Office of Undergraduate Education Undergraduate Research & Creative Inquiry

Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award

The Office of Student Academic Success- Undergraduate Research & Creative Inquiry offers the Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award to honor individuals who have demonstrated success in mentoring undergraduates in their research and/or creative inquiry endeavors.

This award is open to Ohio State faculty, lecturers, post-docs and graduate students who serve as undergraduate research mentors.

Nomination Process

Ohio State undergraduates, enrolled on any campus, may nominate an Ohio State faculty, post-doctoral associate or graduate student for the Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award.

Nomination materials include the following:

  • Student's background and contact information
  • Research mentor's background and contact information
  • Statement of nomination. The statement of nomination must be ≤500 words. When crafting your statement of nomination, please tell us how your research mentor has: (1) supported and inspired you to grow intellectually as a researcher, (2) encouraged and enabled you to reach your future goals and (3) supported and encouraged you on a personal level.

Submission Deadline

The 2022–2023 application is now live. Submit your faculty nomination.

2019 Mentor Award Recipients

Past Recipients

2019-2020 Awardees
  • Zoe Almeida (Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology)
  • Dawn Anderson-Butcher (Social Work)
  • Taylor Ballinger (Psychology)
  • Matthew Birkhold (German)
  • Rebeka Campos-Astorkiza (Spanish and Portuguese)
  • Sergei Chmutov (Mathematics)
  • Jiyeon Denninger (Psychology)
  • Mark Drew (Microbial Infections & Immunity)
  • Rachel Gabor (SENR Hydrology)
  • Scott Graves (Educational Studies)
  • Kristyn Gumpper (Internal Medicine)
  • Richard Hickey (Chemical and Biomedical Engineering)
  • Sharvari Karandikar (Social Work)
  • Krista Kecskemety (Engineering Education)
  • Yeoeun Kim (Educational Studies)
  • Jane Klinger (Psychology)
  • Melanie Krook (Center for Clinical and Translational Science)
  • Andrew May (Civil, Environmental, and Geodetic Engineering)
  • Megan Meuti (Entomology)
  • Ryan Norris (Evolution, Ecology, and Orgranismal Biology)
  • Hollie Nyseth Brehm (Sociology)
  • Shane O'Neil (Neuroscience)
  • Bill Peterman (School of Environment and Natural Resources)
  • Valentina Pita-Grisanti (Nutrition)
  • Donald Terndrup (Astronomy)
  • Rolando Valdes Aguilar (Phyics)
  • Ericka Velez-Bonet (Internal Medicine)
  • Yael Vodovotz (Food Science and Technology)
  • Leah Weston (Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology)
  • Jessica Winter (Chemical and Biomedical Engineering)
  • Jian-Qiu Wu (Molecular Genetics)
2018-2019 Awardees
  • Abigail Buffington (Anthropology)
  • Kimberly Carter (Chemistry)
  • Kristi Cheramie (Landscapre Architecture)
  • Zobeida Cruz-Monserrate (Internal Medicine)
  • James Fuchs (Medicinal Chemsitry)
  • Genie Giaimo (English)
  • Erin Gloag (Microbiology)
  • Mandar Kathe (Chemical Engineering)
  • Chanhee Lee (OARDC Animal Sciences)
  • Brett Loman (Microbial Pathogenesis)
  • Claire Monroy (Otolaryngology)
  • Nicole Sintov (Environment and Natural Resources)
  • Noah Weisleder (Physiology and Cell Biology)
  • Ryan Winston (Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering)
  • Kristina Witcher (Neuroscience)
  • Andre Palmer (Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering)
  • Edward Taketa (Dance)
  • Jason Coronel (Communication)
2017-2018 Awardees
  • Christopher Coss (Pharmacy)
  • Peter Mansoor (History)
  • Nikole Patson (Psychology, Marion Campus)
  • Tasleem Padamsee (Public Health)