Office of Academic Enrichment Undergraduate Research & Creative Inquiry

3-Minute Thesis Competition


The 3MT®, developed at the University of Queensland, challenges participants to present their research—in just three minutes using everyday language—to an audience.

16 students presented their research during the 2022 3MT Competition. See the Program Brochure for the list of student presenters, their research projects and their mentors. To see photos of the 2022 3MT competition, visit the UR&CI Flickr

Will there be a 2023 3-Minute Thesis Competition?

Unfortunately due to changes to space, audio/visual support, and time constraints, we will not be able to host a 3-Minute Thesis competition in autumn 2023. We will be adding a workshop on creating and confidently delivering an "elevator pitch" along with our other workshops on effectively communicating one's research process and impact.  


Application Information

Not currently available.  Please check out the Autumn Undergraduate Research Festival and upcoming workshops.


Past Winners

Congratulations to all our 3-MT winners!
2022 Winners

1. Pete Jordanides - Biomedical Science

“PI3Kγ Inhibitor Potentiates Anti-PD-L1 Immunotherapy against Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma​”

2. Isabelle Aguilar - Biomedical Engineering

“Identifying Keratoconus from Ultrasound Sample Entropy”

3. Tie: Amani Djouadi - Pharmaceutical Sciences

“Delivery of DNA Origami Cancer Vaccine using Alginate Particles”

3: Tie: Natalia Mendonca - Biomedical Engineering

“Decoupling Vasculogenic Cell-Based and Extracellular Vesicle Therapy for Alzheimer’s Disease”

2021 Winners

"Biomedical Sciences" Category:

  1. Sarah Haysley - Speech and Hearing Sciences
  2. Erin Gililand - Neuroscience and Psychology
  3. Harrshavasan Congivaram - Biomedical Sciences

"Inquiry for the Future" Category:

  1. Cara Noel - Microbiology
  2. Will Marshall - Molecular Genetics and Philosophy 
  3. Kara Komarnitsky - Dance
2019 Spring Semester Winners

Session 1:

  • First Place: Heath Pechtl, Animal Sciences
  • Second Place: Douglas Fink, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Third Place: Sarthak Soni, Marketing
  • Honorable Mention: Bryce Boron, Psychology

Session 2:

  • First Place: Timothy Kirby, Mechanical Engineering
  • Second Place: James White, Atmospheric Sciences
  • Third Place: Cara Dauch, Molecular Genetics
2018 Autumn Semester Winners

Lived Experiences of Human Societies:

  • First Place: Isaiah Johnson
  • Second Place: Sydney Clark
  • Third Place: Emma Megla

Emerging Issues in STEM:

  • First Place: Alexandra Smith
  • Second Place: Stephen Gant
  • Third Place: Hilary Kordecki/Nick Krause

Improving Human Health:

  • First Place: Camile Bratton
  • Second Place: Melanie Smith
  • Third Place: Scott Stuckney
2018 Spring Semester Winners
  • First Place: Anthony Milian
  • Second Place: Maya Gosztyla
  • Third Place: Eleni Packis

Honorable Mentions: Sunny Kwok and Samantha Goode

2017 Autumn Semester Winners
  • First Place: Henry Wu
  • Second Place: Alison Baker
  • Third Place: Matt Schneider
2017 Spring Semester Winners
  • First Place: Nicole Puccetti
  • Second Place: Olivia Fitzpatrick
  • Third Place: Mohit Deshpande