Sign In


The Office of Student Academic Success- Undergraduate Research & Creative Inquiry offers the Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award to honor individuals who have demonstrated success in mentoring undergraduates in their research and/or creative inquiry endeavors.

Congratulations to our 2020 recipients: 

  • Zoe Almeida (Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology)
  • Dawn Anderson-Butcher (Social Work)
  • Taylor Ballinger (Psychology)
  • Matthew Birkhold (German)
  • Rebeka Campos-Astorkiza (Spanish and Portuguese) 
  • Sergei Chmutov (Mathematics)
  • Jiyeon Denninger (Psychology)
  • Mark Drew (Microbial Infections & Immunity)
  • Rachel Gabor (SENR Hydrology)
  • Scott Graves (Educational Studies)
  • Kristyn Gumpper (Internal Medicine)
  • Richard Hickey (Chemical and Biomedical Engineering)
  • Sharvari Karandikar (Social Work)
  • Krista Kecskemety (Engineering Education)
  • Yeoeun Kim (Educational Studies)
  • Jane Klinger (Psychology)
  • Melanie Krook (Center for Clinical and Translational Science)
  • Andrew May (Civil, Environmental, and Geodetic Engineering)
  • Megan Meuti (Entomology)
  • Ryan Norris (Evolution, Ecology, and Orgranismal Biology)
  • Hollie Nyseth Brehm (Sociology)
  • Shane O'Neil (Neuroscience)
  • Bill Peterman (School of Environment and Natural Resources)
  • Valentina Pita-Grisanti (Nutrition)
  • Donald Terndrup (Astronomy)
  • Rolando Valdes Aguilar (Phyics)
  • Ericka Velez-Bonet (Internal Medicine)
  • Yael Vodovotz (Food Science and Technology)
  • Leah Weston (Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology)
  • Jessica Winter (Chemical and Biomedical Engineering)
  • Jian-Qiu Wu (Molecular Genetics)

Who is eligible to receive the Award?

OSU faculty (including lecturers), post-doctoral associates and graduate students are eligibile to receive the Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award.

What is the submission deadline for the Award?

The 2019-2020 application is now closed.

What is the nomination process for the Award?

OSU undergraduates, enrolled on any campus, may nominate an OSU faculty, post-doctoral associate or graduate student for the Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award.

Nomination materials include the following:

  • Student's Background and Contact Information
  • Research Mentor's Background and Contact Information
  • Statement of Nomination
    • The statement of nomination must be ≤500 words.  When crafting your statement of nomination, please tell us how your research mentor has: (1) supported and inspired you to grow intellectually as a researcher, (2) encouraged and enabled you to reach your future goals and (3) supported and encouraged you on a personal level.
Screenshots of Qualtrics Application: 

Congratulations to our Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring Awardees:

2018-2019 Awardees:

  • Abigail Buffington (Anthropology)
  • Kimberly Carter (Chemistry)
  • Kristi Cheramie (Landscapre Architecture)
  • Zobeida Cruz-Monserrate (Internal Medicine)
  • James Fuchs (Medicinal Chemsitry)
  • Genie Giaimo (English)
  • Erin Gloag (Microbiology)
  • Mandar Kathe (Chemical Engineering)
  • Chanhee Lee (OARDC Animal Sciences)
  • Brett Loman (Microbial Pathogenesis)
  • Claire Monroy (Otolaryngology)
  • Nicole Sintov (Environment and Natural Resources)
  • Noah Weisleder (Physiology and Cell Biology)
  • Ryan Winston (Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering)
  • Kristina Witcher (Neuroscience)
  • Andre Palmer (Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering)
  • Edward Taketa (Dance)
  • Jason Coronel (Communication)

Past Awardees:

  • 2018: Christopher Coss (College of Pharmacy), Peter Mansoor (College of Arts & Sciences), Nikole Patson (Psychology- Marion Campus), Tasleem Padamsee (College of Public Health)